As I washed the dishes today

through the window I saw

a color-contrasting bluejay

A pleasant surprise, I must say

just when I thought

they had all gone away

With the cold winter wind

I believed they’d all taken flight

to warmer areas, further south

So, you could just imagine my delight

when, first I spotted one

but oh, there was then, another

The dogwood tree

became their retreat

while the search was on

for something good to eat

Suddenly, there was a bit of fluttering

as along came my friend, mockingbird

which sent a landing woodpecker scuttling

I was a bit puzzled at why they’d all descended

for red berry bearing had definitely ended

Then, I noticed the object that drew them

on the ground, a stale, hard roll

my husband threw them

http://oneshotpoetry.blogspot.com/

