This poem is in remembrance of my Mother and for my children

This poem is for One Shot Wednesday

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Oh Mother, as a child

I longed for your embrace

but is was not to be

Never, did I know your face

Oh Mother, as I began to grow

I prayed you would be near

but all too soon I realized

I’d have to face my fears

Oh Mother, you were not meant

to ever come home again

I slowly became aware

this battle you could not win

But Mother, because of the love I’d missed

I wished for a difference for my own

then made a promise to God and myself

that my children would never be alone

I’d be the mother I’d prayed and pined for

laying open my heart to see them through

this conscious choice was the best I could give

so they’d never long as I’d longed for you

I was honored with the Shower of September Awards by Fiveloaf

